When God is Silent

psalm62v7I was talking  to a very polite lady from my insurance company yesterday. We both knew it was going to take quite awhile to answer all my questions. She was having to do a lot of typing and searching for information.  It was then I heard this sweet comment, “There may be times of silence, but I am here.” It may as well been God himself speaking. My heart had been anxious, but suddenly comfort flooded my soul!

The thoughtfulness of this stranger touched me deeply.  She knew absolutely nothing about me, had never seen me, yet she cared enough to reassure me she was there to help me in spite of the many miles separating us.

Isn’t God’s unconditional love just like that? Yet, He does know me…all my yucky and chose to send His son, Jesus to die in my place even while I was yet a rebellious, unrepentant sinner!

Have there been times in your life when you wondered where God was? Did you doubt He was even aware of your situation? Have you cried out for answers and it seemed your prayers were bouncing off the clouds? Have you wondered just how many prayers it was going to take to get a response from God?  Have you been so desperate that you would gladly accept a, “No” rather  than not hear from Him at all? I have.

I think of poor Joseph that was betrayed by his brothers and sold into slavery only to then be lied about by Potiphar’s wife. Then he endured the long, lonely nights in the prison when he had been wrongly accused.  (Genesis 37-39) Surely he often wondered, What in the world are you doing, God?  Where are You? But one day EVERYTHING changed and Joseph went from being a prisoner to second in command of Egypt!

3fdcab5ff8cc5a7c36e7aa3b352b99d5

Oh, and think of the thousands of Israelites who lived their whole lives crying out to God for deliverance from the hard bondage in Egypt! Can you image  trying to explain to your children the importance of continuing to pray for God to do a mighty work when they knew their parents,grandparents, great-grandparents, etc. had prayed for generations for exactly the same thing only to have their situation worsen? That took faith! BUT, there came a day God broke the silence and parted the Red Sea, killed their enemies, gave them water from a rock, and bread and meat from the sky.

And then there are the situations we don’t have the luxury of time to wait and pray. Have you been in that situation?   A decision has to be made quickly, as in Queen Esther’s case.  She and her people were about to be annihilated.   When the easiest thing to do would have been to panic , she asked everyone she knew to fast and pray with her for three days and nights. God came through and turned things around for her in a most amazing way!

Although David was a man after God’s own heart, he evidently experienced God’s silence.  Psalm 28:1 begins, Unto thee will I cry, O LORD my rock; be not silent to me: lest, if thou be silent to me, I become like them that go down into the pit.  But something soon happened because of what he says in verses 6 and 7,

psalm-28_7

Blessed by the LORD, because he hath heard the voice of my supplications. The LORD is my strength and my shield; my heart trusted in him, and I am helped: therefore my heart greatly rejoiceth; and with my song will I praise him.

I think this verse contains  the key to turning our weakness into strength, our helplessness into hopefulness, our sadness into joy, and our torment into praise.

MY HEART TRUSTED IN HIM…. When we turn our focus off of our problems and onto the only One who can solve them, we are helped. Sounds easy enough, right?  The spirit is willing, but the flesh is weak. (Matthew 26:41)

One thing is for sure, although God’s silence can feel like an ominous cloud and be misunderstood, we can be sure  He is there, quietly working.  This quote is in my house,

I believe….

  • in the Sun even when it is not shining
  • in Love even when I cannot feel it
  • in God even when He is silent

He will NEVER, EVER, leave us alone. When everything in you is screaming differently, you can bank on God’s promises. He is there even when we don’t understand and can’t feel Him. He has promised to never leave or forsake us (Hebrews 13:5).  As that lady reminded me yesterday, There may be times of silence, but I am here!

Keep looking up,

Gaye Hughes

gigi-and-destin

It’s never too early to teach your grandbaby!

13 thoughts on “When God is Silent

  1. Gaye, it’s so good to hear from you. I’d sent you an email a few weeks ago but wasn’t sure you received it since it was about the time your address changed. I saw Abby last Sunday and she assured me you had gotten it.

    Yes, I’ve had times when I wondered if God was here/there. We are studying Genesis in our Wednesday night ladies’ class and are in chapter 41. Poor Joseph has been through a lot of difficult times, hasn’t he. But God continues to bless him. Joseph doesn’t ever seem to say, “Woe is me, Lord!” He just picks up the pieces and goes on with his day. Old Jean would have some hard feelings along the way I think.

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts, proud Grandmother!

    Jean

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Gaye, so blessed to read your blog again! The Lord has given you such a talent to express yourself as you minister to others! Love that beautiful grand baby!
    Blessings this Christmas season,
    Bonnie

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Gaye, Thank you for sharing thus, I could feel the peace of knowing God is with us even though He is silent. We just got done studying about that of Queen Esther this week, so neat when we get that confirmation.
    Hope you and your family have a wonderful Christmas!

    Like

  4. Gaye, the timing on this post is so perfect. I am talking with someone who is going to through a time of great trials and feel alone. Your reminder, that God is there in the silence, is so dear and so encouraging. Thank you!

    Like

  5. Thank you so much for this! I also work for an insurance company, and it warms my heart to read the lovely comments about the representative you spoke with. Every day, I hope God can bless one of our members through me. I’ve been struggling lately with my relationship with God. Your words were encouraging. Thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m so glad this helped you in some way. All God needs is a willing and clean vessel. I think we underestimate just what He can do with us when we are obedient and submitted to His will for us. Hang in there and let’s keep seeking Him!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

